President Obama Drops Inaugural Mixtape: Beyonce, John Legend, Usher & More

While President Barack Obama prepares for his second inauguration, he also dropped the first ever Presidential inauguration playlist on Spotify. The list of songs cuts across demographic divides, including Rock, Soul and R&B.

Following the modern music promotion guidelines (See: Justin Timberlake’s release of “Suit & Tie”), the playlist was announced on the president’s official Twitter page Thursday (January 17).

“Hear music from the artists who will be performing at #inaug2013 on the official @spotify playlist.”  

The seventeen-song list includes songs from Stevie Wonder (“Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours)”), Beyonce (“I Was Here”), cast of Glee (singing Lady Gaga’s “Edge Of Glory”) and Katy Perry (“Firework”). 

But fans of Jay-Z and Bruce Springsteen will notice two of Obama’s biggest supporters, were not on the list. The songs were chosen by Obama’s campaign staff and reflect the performers who will be taking the stage at one of the official inaugural events. 

Last week, it was announced that Beyonce, Kelly Clarkson and James Taylor would be among the performers at the Inaugural events that will kick off on Saturday (January 19) in Washington, D.C.

For a complete list of songs on Obama’s Inauguration Playlist, see below.

1. “Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours)” – Stevie Wonder
2. “I Was Here” – Beyoncé
3. “Mi Gente” – Marc Anthony
4. “Carry On” – Fun.
5. “New Day” – Alicia Keys
6. “Mud on the Tires” – Brad Paisley
7. “Turn Up the Love” – Far East Movement
8. “Edge Of Glory” – Glee cast version
9. “Your Smiling Face” – James Taylor
10. “Ordinary People” – John Legend
11. “Firework” – Katy Perry
12. “Breakaway” – Kelly Clarkson
13. “My Mic” – Nick Cannon feat. Biz Markie
14. “Something Special” – Usher
15. “Higher and Higher” – Walt Whitman
16. “Get Ready” – Smokey Robinson
17. “Future” – Mindless Behavior

–Erik Parker, CBS Local 


More From 102.5 KEZK

Get The App
Meet Our Pet Of The Week!
Sign Up Today!

Listen Live